Skip to main content

Developed and maintained
by the NFCC


When an apprentice has successfully completed their programme and passed the EPA, they will be awarded a certificate.

Award grades

There are two successful award grades for the trailblazer apprenticeships – pass or distinction – with different pass marks depending on which apprenticeship the candidate is taking.  
Some apprenticeships also lead to professional recognition by an authorised body, with the following awards eligible for professional registration at the following levels:

Apprenticeship Recognition
Operational Firefighter Institution of Fire Engineers (IFE) at Technician (TIFireE) level
Fire Safety Inspector Institution for Fire Engineers (IFE) Membership level
Fire Safety Engineer Institution for Fire Engineers (IFE) Associate /Member level (depending on experience)