Skip to main content

Developed and maintained
by the NFCC

Apprenticeship Standards

There are currently six fire specific apprenticeships standards designed by fire services in the UK for operational staff:

In addition to these programmes for operational staff, there are apprenticeships available at the Institute for

Apprenticeships & Technical Education for non-operational staff.
The six apprenticeships for fire service staff are also at different educational levels, equivalent to school and university award qualifications:

Apprenticeship Name Level Equivalent Level (Eng and Wales)
Operational Firefighter Advanced 3 A level
Business Fire Safety Adviser Advanced 3 A level
Community Safety Adviser Advanced 3 A level
Emergency Service Contact Handling Advanced 3 A level
Fire Safety Inspector Higher 4,5,6,7 Foundation degree and above
Fire Safety Engineer (Degree) Degree 6 and 7 Bachelor’s or master’s degree

Apprenticeships in Scotland are mapped to the Scottish Credit and Qualification Framework (SCQF).